Day 1: Travel to Oslo

Nothing too exciting to report from today really. We drove to the airport, my hand luggage got stopped at security and it turned out we’d left some suncream in there so that was the last we saw of that, and then we got a coffee whilst we waited for the flight. The flight was nowhere near full so we got a row of three seats to ourselves but we were only in the air for about 1.5 hours so it didn’t matter too much anyway. It was really cloudy so we didn’t see anything interesting coming in to land.

Our bags appeared in no time and we were soon sat on a bus waiting to go from Oslo Rygge to actual Oslo. It took about an hour but it was interesting to see the scenery. It’s such a contrast to our last adventure in the States. I love the red wooden houses and how green it all is. 

We walked to our hotel after we arrived here and didn’t take too much in. This was mostly because Mr.J stubbornly refused to use the rucksack part of his baggage and would only carry it by one long strap but this meant it was rather awkward to carry. Loser. I had my rucksack on my back and my day bag on my front – easy and hands free! Nevertheless we made it to the hotel and had a rest before heading out in search of food.

When we did head out it was raining but to Mr.Js credit he had snook his umbrella into my luggage so he was fine. As ever, I had my waterproof so my only issue was not getting poked in the eye or catching the run off from Mr.Js appalling use of an umbrella. He is a hazard!! We strolled around randomly and saw the Parliament building, but as is so often the case when we’re visiting anywhere, it was being renovated and was hidden under scaffolding and a picture of what it should look like!  We also wandered by an old church and into some more mainstream shopping areas. There’s quite a mix of old and new architecture really but hopefully we’ll explore more of this tomorrow.

We ate at a place called Cafe Sara. It was 98 NKR for a 7up and 0.5L of lager. That’s about £10 so not quite as expensive as it will be in Flam I’m sure but Mr.J did manage to only have the one!! The food we ate was pretty yum though. Mr.J had beef fajitas and I had a lamb stew. The stew itself had loads of really tender lamb, with carrots, green beans and potatoes in a lovely gravy. And I got a warm baguette, salad and this extra yummy corn rice too. It’s safe to say I’m quite full!!

The only issue we have is that we feel awful that all we can manage in Norwegian is “Takk”. We might have to work on the language but I’m not sure we’ll get very far. Some words look a lot like French or German but the pronunciation is very different. I did see a sign that said “Sunt and Godt” and according to Mr.Js translator app, “Sunt” means healthy!! 

Anyway, it’s time for a game of Bananagrams……

Leave a comment